Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What are the causes of the problem?

What measures can governments take to solve this problem?

Over the past decades, there has been a pressing phenomenon that a vast number of people do not know how to read and write, posing debilitating impacts on the development and prosperity of the society. This essay will analyze several reasons and propose viable measures to brighten the situation.

One of the driving forces behind this worrying issue would be that a multitude of citizens is suffering from the abject poverty. Due to globalization, the gap between the rich and the poor become unequivocally unbridgeable. As a result, people in rural communities show a reckless disregard for the vitality of education in children’s life. Having said that, children are forced to abandon their education from a young age to work as a labour force to make ends meet. Another culprit associated with the illiteracy would be the inequality among boys and girls in several areas. It is elucidated by the cultural and traditional privileged treatment given to males and females are entitled to work in the family home.

There are, however, several policies which national and local authorities can adopt to bolster matters. First and foremost, the government should appropriate financial resources to provide academic support to schools in underprivileged communities in terms of schooling materials and redecorating classes. Along with that, an amount of national funds should be allocated to grant scholarships for students in such areas with the aim of incentivizing them to go to schools. Additionally, the government and local authorities should redress the gender inequality in the society. In order to do this, cooperation among national leaders is needed to hold such conferences to rectify people’s perspectives.

In conclusion, factors stemming from poverty and injustice have led to illiteracy. However, feasible measures are available and easily conducted to untangle this alarming phenomenon.