Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

The philosophical question of Shakespeare ‘to be or not to be’ in the reality of the 21st century is stated as ‘to be self-employed or not to be self-employed’. A great many of people now prefer to be fully independent and work as freelancers, meaning that they choose the preferred working hours, the home office, and the workload. At the same time, the absolute majority still commutes to work daily and deeply depends on the organizational structure and mood of their bosses.

It is an open secret, that the self-employed have a pretty long list of advantages, flexibility, as well as advanced work-life balance, being the primal ones. For instance, a freelancer could work from any point in the world no matter whether the location is in the same country with its client or he/she is executing the project from Bali, sitting in a shade of a palm tree near the ocean. What is more, self-employed employee is not spending hours on commuting to work, when the road are packed during the rush hours. As an instance, I could also mention the tax regime applied in Russia to those who work as entrepreneurs or freelancers, since the tax rate is three times less than that for all the traditional workers.

On the other hand, working from home office and being self-employed assumes the person to be highly motivated, responsible, and self-driven, since the freelance regime gives the entrepreneur a countless number of distractions and opportunities to relax even when the work is not done properly. For example, in the USA there exist numerous amount of cases when a person tried to set up its own business, succeeded, but then, unfortunately, lost the power of self-control and went bankrupt due to procrastination or laziness. The strong depiction of another disadvantage of self-employment could be found in various books of the Russian authors, such as Dostoevsky or Tolstoy. The main characters in their books, as a rule, are the employees of state organizations, meaning that they have a widespread network of relationships and interconnections, who can help the key heros to resolve an issue. And it is definitely the case even in the current reality, while freelancers sometimes lack the business partners who can do them a favor in the situation of need.

As a conclusion, after observing the aforementioned examples, it is true that self-employment is a great opportunity to escape from the well-known disadvantages of working for a company, it still has a list of disadvantages that could only be mitigated by strong personal commitment and motivation of a person who has chosen to be a freelancer.