Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

People of modern world often have inclination to start their own business and employ themselves. Although it has some transparent benefits that encourage people, we should not lose sight of its deterrents.

The main reason attributes to this trend is the priority of flexibility. As entrepreneurs can make a decision for their workplace and working time, which match their lifestyle and routine, and perfectly suit those who do not want 9 to 5 jobs. Because freelancing jobs figure challenge and variety that do not make them feel bored with. In addition, sometimes, they can have more comfortable income than other personnels in commensurate with their workload. This is truly the kind of work which modern citizen pursue.

However, everything has its own doubled-edge sword. Due to their work's characteristics, entrepreneurs cannot ensure their revenue stability, which means they have to put their worst situation scenario in to consideration. Since they are not paid by their position’s salary cap, they will not have steady pay for their income. Plus, self-employment requires people having attained abundant of work experiences and large-scale understanding to cover all responsibilities like administration, management, accounting, logistics, the list goes on. If they do not meet those requirements, their business will be led to go bankrupt.

All in all, while it is a firm possibility that self-employment is an ideal work style worth pursuing due to its advantages, it is not appropriate for those who lacks of essential potentials.