Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, there has been an increasing tendency for the people to be freelancers instead of being captured by a company or organization. This can result from many causes, however, there are drawbacks in certain aspects.

There are several factors responsible for being a self-employed person. In terms of time, their own agendas are able to be organised themselves. This means that they do not have to follow a fixed timeline which every company requires, and they are more flexible to work whenever and wherever they want. Therefore, they can work in moderation which will not harm their well-being and have an opportunity to strengthen their soft skills. According to the government statitics, most mothers who are pregnant choose to be freelancers. The main reason for this is that they can minimise the work mass and spend more time looking after their babies, which is beneficial for both.

Nevertheless, freelancers can have difficulty in orientations for the future path. They work and have responsibilities for all of the work aspects, which leads to a huge number of issues. They not only create intentions on a regular basis but also have to find counterparts to cooperate with. As a result, they cann be distracted from their main field and suffer from prolonged pressure. Some recent studies have suggested that the more time a person chooses to be a freelancer, the lower range of salaries they will receive. If they join a company, duties mentioned above will be adopted by the staff, then employees will have more concentration on their fields.

To sum up, although people who are freelancers can result from the need of time, this can lead to the lack of orientations for the future career. People should consider carefully before choosing to be a self-employed.