Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

These days, the idea of “self-employment” has become more common as an increasing number of individuals tend to work independently rather than engage in a corporation. In this essay, several reasons explaining this trend would be pointed out as well as the disadvantages accompanied by this option.

To begin with, the main reasons that lead to self-employment involve flexibility and autonomy. Firstly, contrary to the employees who stick to a fixed working schedule in an organization, self-employed individuals are capable of choosing working time and location. For instance, these people don’t necessarily have to come to the workplace at exactly 8 in the morning, or obey the uniform regulation. Secondly, numerous people feel more comfortable implementing some ideas by themselves. Not having to achieve working KPI, these persons could then come up with some creative decisions that might help their business.

Although the self-employment concept might be good as it seems, there are still some downsides remaining. Following a certain working scheme, employees could receive fixed salary in a period, plus extra pay for work beyond the target. This stable income, however, is not the case of freelancers, as they have to create several networkings in order to earn revenues. On top of that, working dependently can sometimes be stressful to some extent. The work-life balance can negatively be affected as they don’t have to follow a certain discipline like any other traditional pattern. This could result in long-term mental health and illness as these individuals have to carry almost everything.

In conclusion, while the concept of “self-employment” could be good for some reasons including autonomy and flexibility, the tradeoffs regarding unstable income and pressure could be huge to those who choose to work independently.