Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people argue that zoos are helpful in preserving wild creatures. While there are some benefits from keeping these areas, I am of the opinion that animals should not be locked up in such places and zoos should be completely abolished.

On the one hand, the idea of zoos being allowed to exist is reasonable to some extent. Firstly, wild animals, especially those being put under threat of extinction, could be safe from hunters and other threats. Zoos are artificial areas in which species could live as if they were living in a real jungle, which is currently being damaged by fast-growing urbanization. Secondly, people could understand species' natural habitats and raise awareness in preserving certain animals.

Despite the above mentioned ideas, I believe zoos are unnecessary for a variety of reasons. Firstly, zoos can only hold small number amount of species and therefore the majority of animals couldn’t be protected from being hunted and natural habitats being damaged. Funds should be raised by government in order to organize preseving programs and activities to help stop and prevent the destruction of natural habitats. Secondly, some zoos are accused of mistreating the animals badly. They are abandoned without any medical care from zoo keepers and are left to die because of starvation and diseases.

In conclusion, while some zoos may have some positive affects involve environment for endangered animals and raise people’s awareness, I believe zoos should still be abolished as its’ affect in protecting animals are small and they do harm more than good.