Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

In this contemporary society, having childbirth later in life is an increasingly popular trend. There are some fundamental reasons behind this phenomenon, which have negative impacts on both family life and community as a whole.

There are two main causes why individuals decide against giving childbirth at the early stage of their life. Firstly, they suppose that career prospects should be the top priority. As a result, they have allocated almost their time to work hard, getting promotion and rewards in lieu of embarking on parenthood. Secondly, delaying birth means they have countless opportunities to experience their personal life by pursuing their hobbies, such as: travelling around the world, taking part in number of parties. These valuable experience could play an integral part in their life afterwards, which not only broaden their horizon but also offer them promising future prospects.

However, I believe that this trend has negative consequences on personal perspective and society at large. The first concern is difficulties which older parents could confront with, compared to those of younger parents, regarding the nurture of babies. To be more precise, even though older parents may have higher socioeconomic status and better living conditions, they are highly likely to face with more obstacles when raising a child, such as ineffective communication with adolescent, because of generation gap. Another consequence could be that older mothers can suffer higher potential health risks, for example, miscarriage or stillbirth in comparison with those of younger mothers. The same is true of babies, who are born by older parents, as the rate of genetic diseases like Down’s symdrome is very high.

In conclusion, the fact is that starting parenthood later in life becomes more and more popular by some known reasons and this trend causes some major concerns towards both personal and social perspectives.