In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as the family roles. What are the changes which have occured? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

It is an obvious trend of changing family structure and family roles in this contemporary society. I wholeheartedly believe that these significant changes have positive impacts on both personal and social perspectives.

Today’s society has experienced several major changes regarding family structure and family roles. The first prominent transformation is the awareness about women’s paramount role, as they are offered equal opportunities to pursue their career, in comparison with men’s role. As a result, more and more husbands help their wives to do the chores, which were usually considered as ‘women job’. Another change is that nuclear families have replaced for traditional families with more than two generations living together.

I advocate these changes because of its benefits towards individual and society as well. Firstly, dual-income families could have more money to finance their children’s education. As a result, youngsters could be trained to be well-rounded individuals, having essential qualifications to meet the high competitive labor market in the future. Secondly, a nuclear family with parents working means adolescents will be raised by the support of kindergartens and schools, where kids are required to be independent and socialize with others. It is no doubt that children will be taught some necessary living skills, such as: interpersonal skill, adaptability and willingness to explore the world, while parents are enabled to earn money.

In conclusion, the modern life has brought out some remarkable changes in terms of family structure and family roles, which derive positive effects on individual and community as a whole.