In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes which have occured? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

Rigorous development of socio-economy internationally leaves huge impacts on people’s life, such as the changes of family structures. Actually, these changes are inevitable once people’s perception and ideology of family structure and its roles have been altered. Personally, I think that these changes are beneficial due to some following arguments.

Some changes of structures of family have been taken place in recent years, especially the dominance of nuclear families instead of extended family stereotype and roles of each member in a family. Firstly, a nuclear family now is considered as a standard family’s structure, whereby usually two parents live with their children. Secondly, roles of family members in a family have been significantly changes. Husband is no longer a breadwinner in a family since his wives now are drawn to go out, secure her own career and make money. As a result, domestic household chores are share to both husbands and wives, which in the past was considered as the women’s work.

It seems to me that these developments are advantageous, despite the fierce objections of some traditionalists. Nuclear family stereotype is conducive for parents in child-rearing since parents have full authority to educate their children. For example, when a child misbehaves, he be punished by his parents which they cannot do when grandparents are around trying to protect him when living in an extended family. As for the changes in roles of husbands and wives in family, I think it is so beneficial. Since following her dream jobs, wives can also double her family’s income, thereby the living standard will be unquestionably improved.

In conclusion, I of the opinion that family’s structure changes in a positive way.