It is suggested that everyone wants to have a car, a television and a fridge. Do the disadvantages of this development for society outweigh the advantages?

It is an ever-increasing debate whether the drawbacks of possessing a car, a television and a fridge outweigh its benefits regarding the social development. While some individuals are in favour of this opinion, I am personally of the opposite side due to some following arguments.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that these everyday-used goods namely cars, TV sets and fridges are detrimental for our community. Firstly, they will leave a serious impact on human health. Being in front of the television or behind the wheel for a long time results in sedentary habits which consequently triggers some digestive disorders. Using fridge to store foods prompts unhealthy eating habits, particularly when people have a tendency to snack on some fattening treats available. Secondly, these goods will have an adverse impact on the environment since necessitating cars and fridges can generate the greenhouse emissions. Besides, the dispose of these products, when they reach the end of their lifetime, may be harmful to the natural habitats.

On the other hand, I would contend that using these consumer products is exceedingly beneficial. Car travelling is an innovation of modern society as it reduces commuting time, which consequently frees people of utilizing their time to devote to their works or their family. A television enables people to access to the information of global changes up to the minute. Bonus, undoubtedly a delectable and healthy meal cannot be done unless there is a modern fridge owning to its convenience of storing food for long periods. Additionally, today with the fast-paced growth of technology, the environment issues relating to the dispose of high-tech products will be tackled effectively.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the benefits of these goods are much more pivotal than its drawbacks.