Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

There has been a significant increase in the popularity of young people waiting until they get older to have babies. In this essay, I will outline the main reason for this tendency and its impacts on society and family lives.

On the one hand, the main reason leading to this trend is that youngsters want to spend as much time as possible on enjoying their young ages instead of having responsibility with their children. In fact, this choice allows young people to have not only more free time to broaden their horizons but also more opportunities to pursue better career prospects and raise their salaries. For instance, most of young couples may feel easier to travel when they do not need to nurture a child. As a result, being pregnant late can help parents to guarantee good lives for their children due to their useful experiences gaining in the younger period as well as high incomes.

On the other hand, this tendency may bring some negative influences on society in general and family lives in particular. Firstly, having children late can create a considerable gap between two generations. Consequently, parents can find more difficulties in starting a conversation or discussing with their offspring. Moreover, babies being born with poor physical health are often associated with their parents’ late reproduction. This may be harmful to the quality of future workforce in terms of working efficiency.

In conclusion, there are many benefits explaining the reason why people like having children later in their life. However, this phenomenon may pose many threats to both society and family lives.