Students today can easily access information online, so libraries are no longer necessary. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a considerable debate among people over whether acquiring the information on the Internet nowadays is becoming easier in comparison with that in the past. Although it is undeniable that the online sources of information are more advantages than libraries, I suppose that traditional libraries are still a great need for students.

On the one hand, accessing information online has many benefits. Firstly, the online sources contain an enormous amount of information which can be much greater than any conventional libraries. This allows Internet users to go online and get the necessary information which is not fully mentioned in the books borrowing from libraries. Secondly, searching online information can be faster and more convenient. In fact, not only students can acquire information and knowledge without any traveling but they can also look for information on the Internet whenever they want, whereas libraries are just active in the specific office hours. Consequently, going online may be better for students who have a busy schedule and live far away from local libraries.

On the other hand, I believe that traditional libraries cannot be replaced by online sources due to their special features. Indeed, libraries can give individuals a quiet place which is an ideal environment for students to study with the highest concentration. For example, some of my friends confirm that studying in the school library is likely to be less distracted by noise and other people. Additionally, since everyone can post information on the Internet, the online sources seem to not be reliable for learning. That is the reason why students still need libraries whose materials are censored carefully in order to provide precise information for readers.

In conclusion, while the benefits of online information can outweigh those of conventional libraries but I believe that libraries which provide a good place to study as well as credible knowledge still play an important role.