Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on family life and society?

One school of thought holds that the more prosperous and civilized our society is, the more tardily parenthood is delayed. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this tendency before elucidating the detrimental impacts of it on domestic life and communal prosperity as a whole.

There are two primary reasons as to why bearing children has no longer been the top priority of couples in recent years. Firstly, pursuing a flourishing career path is chosen by most young generations in the early stage of their life. Specifically, due to the increasingly prohibitive costs of living such as accommodation and tuition fees, it is immensely reckless for them to not retain a stable financial status, which might put their young kids’ high living standards in jeopardy. Secondly, it takes a long time for them to prepare a sufficient amount of parental knowledge. Typically, in Viet Nam, there are countless training courses, which were introduced to equip people with childcare skills, namely feedings and sex education, thereby avoiding a host of abrupt aberrations while raising their offspring.

There are two major problems that stem from this phenomenon. First and foremost, late childbirth could lead to a deterioration in women’s well-being. It can be perfectly explained by the fact that if they get pregnant after the age of 35, they could be at a greater risk of suffering from various serious diseases, such as miscarriage and stillbirth. Additionally, when people decide to have children when they are older, it can be seen that their son and daughter would not have abundance time to be enlightened and instructed by their father and mother, leading to the engagement in criminal activities of juvenile offenders, which could pose a threat to the security in the vicinity of that residential areas.

In conclusion, there are some underlying motives behind the fact that people tend to start a family later in life, and it is taking a heavy toll on physical health and the development of the community as a whole.