Nowadays, most countries improve the standard of living through economic development. But some social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of the phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages?

Most countries, around the globe; deem economic development as the best tool for improving their living standards; however, there are people who believe that economic growth leads to the loss of social values. In this essay, I am going to shed some light on the advantages and disadvantages of economic development.

It is certainly true that developed countries have improved people’s way of living by providing the enhanced standard of public services: health and education. improved health care helps in increasing people’s life expectancy by treating dangerous diseases. For instance, Obama care, in America, provides better medical facilities to its citizens and also does research and development for discovering better and cheap medicines. Furthermore, improved educational standards can give people a greater diversity of skills and a broader mindset. To exemplify, in my knowledge, I have learned that education is accounted for an important medium for prosperity and happiness of a nation.

However, every coin has two sides and despite all the advantages of developed economies, there are some disadvantages too. people argue that this could lead to the loss of social values because higher economic growth is directly proportional to long hours of hard work. Its first negative impact will be that the hard-working parents will not be able to spare precious time for their children; hence, children will eventually get involved in anti-social activities. For instance, the children of African-Americans in New York City are under the influence of criminal activities since their parents are too much occupied in their work.

In conclusion, I believe that focussing on economic development has a little negative impact on families as compared to many benefits it can give to its societies in terms of quality health and education.