Nowadays, most countries improve the standard of living through economic development. But some social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of the phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that most nations in the world are improving their economic status. However, it is believed that a range of social worth is diminishing as a consequence. I personally adhere to this opinion, that the advantages of economic development are outweighed by disadvantages.

On the one hand, stable and healthy economic development really helps people live more conveniently. Since without money in the pocket, struggling to survive is already challenging for humans, let alone for leading an interesting life and do whatever they want. For example, in the previous century, a great number of Vietnamese poor children could not go to school to obtain knowledge as their parents could not afford the fees; besides, they had to work on the farm to help feed their family. These days, hence the country becomes wealthier, people no longer have to ponder on basic needs. In addition, they may have a chance to nurture other aspects of life, such as mental health or their own hobbies. In other words, economic growth makes humans' life more completed.

On the other hand, everything has its own price and there is no exception for this matter. To boost economics, numerous countries decided to trade off several precious social values as well as traditional traits, and the consequence is miserable. Japan, for instance, abandoned its own Lunar new year holiday and celebrate the new year coincidentally with Western people, so that it will not miss any opportunity to do business with them while taking different time being off work. Another example is China, which had to pay the penalty for making progress in the industry regardless of the environment. As a result, the level of air pollution recently is so alarming that residents in some areas could not see the sun due to a huge amount of dust being airborne.

In conclusion, I believe that economic growth is necessary; however, people should perform it while taking other social factors into account carefully.