Nowadays most green energy is becoming evermore prevalent in both developed and developing countries. Some argue they greatly reduce costs and are better for the environment, others believe they are a serious threat to energy security. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the modern world, the proliferation of energy demand has led to the introduction of different energy production methods. In many nations, the power generated by the use of environment-friendly techniques is in huge demand. Some people think that such energy is less costly and good for the environment, while others say this type of energy is detrimental to the secure supply of power. This essay will discuss both views and explain why green energy is actually superior.

First of all, there is no doubt that by energy produced by harnessing solar power, wind and water is less expensive and is a clean form of power. Solar systems, windmills and water turbines can be constructed by using less expenditure as compare to refineries. For instance, according to a study done by the environment department of Canada, green energy projects are 15% cheaper in terms of construction than petroleum upgraders. Moreover, such a form of energy generation plants produce minimum emissions and have less impact on climate change. Consequently, global warming can be reduced.

Although clean energy has definite benefits, the number of people still claim this form of energy is less reliable and worry about energy security. As with many other conventional energy generation projects, clean energy production facilities also experience failures and hence energy supply is disrupted. Such facilities require high maintenance and are dependent on weather for continuous operations. Due to the above-mentioned reasons, environmentally friendly energy is sometimes mentioned as harmful to energy security.

In conclusion, I am convinced that the energy produced from clean sources is good for the climate and is relatively inexpensive. This essay discussed both notions and illustrated why green energy is at forefront despite some drawbacks.