Nowadays, most people are using a lot of online language translation apps. Are the advantages more than the disadvantages?

Write an essay of no less than 250 words.

In recent times, a large number of people have turned to increased utilization of the wide variety of online language translation apps. In my view, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages by far. In this essay, I will be examining both aspects.

First and foremost, the merits of utilizing e-language translation apps include easy accessibility, convenience, and requires fewer resources. with the current technological advancements and availability of smartphones, tablets, and laptops, it has become easy to access these apps as they can be easily downloaded and used by interested individuals. Additionally, using these apps is convenient since one does not need to use extra time and other resources. For example, in a scenario where one may be communicating with somebody else who speaks a different language, these apps come in handy in breaking the language barrier and facilitating communication. Lastly, another merit is that fewer resources are required. As compared to a classroom set-up where one has to pay fees and use time travelling to and from class, online apps only require the use of a smart communication device and a reliable internet connection to use them.

Secondly, there are demerits to the use of online language translation apps which are; limitations to vocabulary which can be learnt and laziness among the users. As easy as it is to translate languages online, there are limitations to the words that can be translated based on the entries or these words or sentences may have vague or multiple meanings which results in distortion of the intended message or loss of its meaning altogether. Moreover, these apps may encourage laziness among users. Since there is no pressure to learn or deadlines to beat by using these apps, a user learns at their own pace which results in laziness.

In conclusion, increased usage of online language translation apps in the modern world has been highly influenced by the merits which heavily outweigh the demerits. These merits are easy accessibility, convenience and fewer resources are required while the demerits include limited vocabulary and laziness among users.