Some people think that public health within a country can be improved by government making laws regarding nutritious food. Others, however, think that health is a matter of personal choice and responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Write at least 250 words

A group of people has argued that a nation's health can be improved if the government drafts and enforces legal acts regarding nutritious foods while another is of the opinion that matters health are personal choices and responsibilities. In my opinion, health is equally a government's responsibility as much as it is an individual's. In this essay, I will be examining both aspects.

First and foremost, the government owes it to its people to ensure that the food which they consume is well-balanced and wholesome by enforcing strict laws on how food is grown, processed and stored and ensuring that manufacturers provide nutritional values of their end products for the consumers. Laws and policies on growing, processing and storage of food will ensure that farmers use the right pesticides and insecticides when growing food, and in cases of livestock and poultry farming, each farmer will be required to adhere to policies such as timely deworming and routinely seeking veterinary services which will facilitate early detection and treatment of diseases. Additionally, manufacturers will also be obliged to handle foods with most caution from processing to storage, and ensuring that their end products have indexed information on the nutritional values of all nutrients. Moreover, with legal acts, bodies that supervise food processing and manufacturing industries and will be formed if not already in existence. These authorities will be mandated to ensure compliance to policies on food handling and proper storage. They will also be tasked with the responsibility of bringing to book those who are caught breaking the law. For example, there have been trending videos on the internet which show chicken being injected with drugs to fatten them with an aim of increasing the income generated from sales: such heinous acts would be avoided if there was stricter supervision and prosecution by governing authorities.

Secondly, it is an individual's responsibility to see to it that they are in good health by making choices which positively impact their wellbeing such as making their own food and seeking dietary information from professionals. Preparing and making food at home other than take away from eateries and restaurants ensures that an individual is aware of the ratios of the foods which they are consuming thus ensuring that they consume healthier and balanced foods. Additionally, people are responsible for seeking information on their dietary requirements based on their health needs from professionals such as nutritionists, and from the internet which is well equipped with the necessary information. For example, any person who has a lifestyle disease such as diabetes shows a better prognosis when they adhere strictly to the information and dietetic counselling which they receive.

In summary, there are various arguments about public health with a portion of people believing that it can be improved by the government making policies on nutritious foods, while another thinks that it is a personal choice and responsibility. In view of this argument, I think that health is both a government's responsibility by ensuring that there are stricter laws governing farming and food manufacturing, formation of regulating bodies and authorities to enact such laws, as well as an individual's responsibility to make choices such as cooking their own food and seeking nutritional information.