Some people think competitive sport is important for a child's education. Others think it has negative effects on children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Write at least 250 words.

A number of people argue that contestable sport could be essential for a child's education, while others hold that it could have unwanted effects in children. I believe that while it may aid in boosting a child's self-esteem, building the spirit of team work and creating motivation, competitive sport may lead to bullying and emotional instability especially in children who cannot handle losing.

First of all, contestable sport is important for a child's education in that it strengthens a child's self-esteem. When a child wins in any form of sport, their spirit is raised and they have a positive outlook on themselves which results in a high self-esteem. Additionally, competitive sport develops and builds team spirit whereby a child has the motivation to be part of a winning team. Motivation is enhanced when a child participates in a contestable sport and emerges a winner, as a result the child will want to take part in future sporting activities, and will have the self drive to keep working towards winning.

Secondly, there are unwanted effects that crop up from competitive sport. For instance, bullying and emotional instability may emerge from losing. Children may pick on one of them, when they feel may have made them lose in a certain sport and as a result the affected child's esteem maybe lowered. Moreover, a child may not positively handle losing and this may lead to withdrawal and refusal to engage in sporting activities in the future.

In summary, while competitive sport maybe helpful for some children, it maybe harmful to others. In my view, competitive sport should be encouraged and more children should engage in it.