Nowadays most people choose to throw away broken things instead of repairing them, and replace them with new ones. Why is this happening? What problems may it lead to?

There is no escape from the fact that these days people are more willing to replace their broken stuff with new ones rather than going the path of replacing them. This essay would analyze the underlying reasons for this issue as well as the ill consequences it would bring about.

This phenomenon can be attributable to two principal factors. First, the advent of new technology has unfolded the possibility of daily updates in products of diverse categories which can compete with their previous versions in terms of quality and functionality. For example a state of the art mobile phone brings about a variety of accessories which are not comparable to the ones provided by their ancestors. Secondly, regarding the enhancements in advertisements industry, each individual is at liberty to be informed of the latest updates in marketplace. These causes consequently would foster the people in a society to become more passionate about upgrading their damaged equipment instead of repairing them.

The direst consequences of this emerging issue, however, are becoming more significant. On one hand, the environment would suffer as the demand for newly introduced products soars the need for natural resources like oil, water and wood; causing severe damages to the environment including deforestation and drought. On the other hand, the supporter of a family would undergo tremendous pressure in order to bear the burden of affording such replacements owing to the exorbitant costs of changing the furniture.

By way of conclusion, it is an undeniable fact that these types of luxury habits are doomed and the society would benefit if people put aside these types of behaviors.