While people used to carry on their furniture and stuff for long a period, the last decade has seen a rise in people replacing their things on the first they get especially when they are broken, rather than repairing them. This essay would analyze the fundamental reasons for this issue as well as the ill effects of such behaviors.

The phenomenon can be attributable to two principal factors. First, nonstop progress of technology industry has unfolded the possibility to introduce more advanced products to the market place each day; which would satisfy the needs of people of different preferences. Being enthusiastic about keeping up with upcoming technology, people usually prefer to experience the new equipment. Second, the enhancements in advertisements industry has led to a more well-rounded overview of individuals on the market place as well as their available choices. As a result, when a single possession of an individual breaks, he, although it might be costly, would be encouraged to experience the state of the art technology which he might be at liberty of acquiring.

The direst consequences of this issue, however, are becoming more significant. On one hand, the exorbitant prices of newly bought devices, although being of high quality, would impose crucial predicaments on the bread-winner of a family who should not only bear the burden of daily costs, but also take care of these types of extra expenses. This would stimulate families to dedicate most of their time for earning money instead of enjoying their leisure time. On the other hand, this emerging habit would bring about ill impacts on our natural resources like oil, water and wood as they are going to be utilized to excess in order to satisfy the market’s demands; which leads to irreparable damages to environment ranging from deforestation to drought

By way of conclusion, the reasons why people are following such luxury habits are varied as mentioned above and it seems that the government should take some measures to tackle this emerging problem.