Nowadays, most people learn academic study in university, but others think we should encourage to learn vocational skills more. Do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about whether people should take academic education or vocational study. While some people believe that we should promote more students to learn practical skills, I strongly advocate that it is more essential to take university education than vocational skills.

There are some reasons why we should not boost students to take vocational schooling. Compared with students who got university degrees, students who graduated from vocational schools usually got lower-paying positions. They have not much potential to advance in higher positions, such as manager, CEO, executive, because there are not many higher positions available in the trades. A recent survey showed that the average college graduate makes more money than the average vocational training students over a lifetime. In addition, specialization means students have no other career path. Trade schools limit students to one career path and specialize in training students on this career path thus offering them no other choice in their careers.

I believe that people should opt to study academic learning in university instead. Firstly, a wide number of fundamental knowledge and general education are provided for undergraduate students to choose from. This means that university education enables these students either to acquire deeper knowledge in a specific field or to acquire broad knowledge to explore their own interests in different fields. Secondly, college graduates have more and better employment opportunities. For example, as a data scientist, a recently emerging popular job, he needs to acquire knowledge and skills in statistics and programming. Finally, vast courses can cultivate undergraduate students’ love for art, literature, and other aspect of education.

In conclusion, my view is that it would be better, on balance, for students to receive university education and there is no need to make more students to study vocational training education.