Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

In the world today, children tend to be under so much pressure to become successful from their parents. In my point of view, this can have negative influences on children. My following essay will discuss some reasons for this situation and also its drawbacks.

First and foremost, there is no denying that this matter deprives from the concern of parents about their kids’ future along with the anxiety for them to succeed. Initially, it is apparent that the young generation will have to face up to plethora of hardships and challenges of artificial intelligence, automation, green issue and the aging population. As a result, parents so much burden on their children for fear that they may not be capable of having a potential prospect career in the future. Furthermore, the usual high expectations and the burning hope of their kids’ success obviously have made each single parent force their children to work hard every day.

Nonetheless, it is proven that children may suffer from many problems when they have to fulfill so many obligations. Having to study very hard at the early age, they may not stand a chance to enjoy a real memorable childhood. Investing too much time to study also means that they are unable to spend enough time with their family and friends, their own hobbies and outdoor activities. Besides, in order to live up to parents’ expectations, it is not likely for them to become the true version of themselves, which can lead to a lot of adverse effects on children’s physical and metal health. There has been a serious scarcity of physical movements causing a rise in obesity and other diseases in the society especially in the younger generation. Apart from that, children may have to struggle with tiredness and frustration or depression. Not only does this cause terrible consequences to the children themselves but it also leaves long lasting influence on the whole nation. For example, in South Korea, there has been an increasingly alarming rate of suicide among students each year due to excessive stress from study and strained relations with family or friends. More clearly, 258 students attempted suicide in 2015 and that number reached a record high of 451 in 2017.

To sum up, I believe there should be adequate pressure as an impetus for children to develop.