Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason behind this? Is this a negative or positive development?

In present time, parents do not understand the interest of their children but force them to perform really well in academics because father and mother believe that it will help their minors to get a good job and another reason is due to the competitive nature of society. But, it retards the physical and mental growth of the children.

Parents think that doing well in schools and universities and getting a good score in examinations will help their teenagers to get jobs in well reputed companies so they force their children not to waste time on doing other physical or recreational activities instead stick to their school books. Another reason is that father and mother push their minors to succeed in all the fields due to the competitive behaviour of the area where they are living. They want their youngsters to perform best among all the children of the society so that everyone would praise their child and they can move in the area with pride.

But, this kind of nature of parents will lead to various problems in child's life. Sitting and studying academic courses for whole day and not doing any fun or physical activities make them physically sick, dull and lazy. They may suffer from various health issues like obesity as well. On the other hand, thought of competing with other children in all the domains like examination, sports, arts etcetera, rise a fear in the mind of teenagers. As a result, child suffers from depression retarding their mental growth.

To conclude, academics is essential part of life but not only the way to get a good job. Parents should understand the interest of their children and help them to expertise in that rather than forcing him/her to get excel in all the fields otherwise it will lead to different health and brain related problems effecting the overall growth and development of children.