Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think that the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages.

At present, most of the nations want to raise their standard of living through economic growth as it has many benefits. On the other hand, some people believe that, it has negative effect as it causes lose of social values. This essay sheds light on both merits and demerits of economic development and expresses my opinion as well.

There are many advantages of economic growth to the citizens of the country. One of them is, as the economy grows, more employment opportunity rises which helps people to earn sufficient amount of money in order to meet their basic needs like food, clothing and shelter as a result, drop in poverty line can be seen. Another is improved healthcare and education facilities. People can get good education which helps them to get jobs in well reputed companies and on other hand, improved medical treatments, increase the life expectancy. Hence, individuals can live longer life and can fulfil their all dreams and desires.

In addition to that, there are some disadvantages as well. In order to earn more money, people do hard work and they do not get time for their families so, they become materialistic and selfish because they believe that anything can be bought by money even love, affection, care and relationships which is not true. This lead to lose of social and moral values.

To conclude, although social development to raise standard of living has pros but cons are also there. In my opinion, I think that these demerits can be curbed by giving better moral and social eduction to children at their early ages.