Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think teher are disadvantages to this.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, it has become a common trend among big companies to sponsor various sports to advertise their products. It has been considered that some people believe that this practice has adverse effects whilst, others think that it is advantageous. This essay will discuss both the aspects and throw light on my views.

There are multiple reasons which support that companies should sponsor sports as it is beneficial for both companies and sport committees. On one hand, companies can increase their sale by showcasing their products. For instance, two years ago, Coca-cola company sponsored Olympic games which helped to rose their sale by three fourth of the global population within two years. On the other hand, sport committees can award players with prizes by the money from the sponsored company. In addition to this, such sports inspired the viewers to take part in physical and outdoor activities and sometimes adopted sports as their career.

On the other side, there are some disadvantages of organising such sports. One of them is it effects the quality of sports spirit because players become money minded as a result, they start taking performance enhancing drugs to meet the expectations of sponsor company and sometimes, trapped into scandals like match fixing. To illustrate, two Australian players were banned for life long because of using drugs. Other problem is that the advertisements shown during games attract the customers and encourage them to spend money on the things which they actually don not require.

To conclude, sponsoring games by the companies has both merits and demerits but as my opinion, these disadvantages can be converted into benefits if strict rules are regulations are imposed by sport authorities as well as government.