Nowadays people depend on technology for leisure activities. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, technology has been of fundamental importance to human life; however, its’ presence in pastime activities has sparked a controversy among the general public. In my perspective, the drawbacks of human dependence on technology for their entertainment outweigh the advantages.

On the one hand, high-tech gadgets have the virtue of diverse categories of entertainment and widespread accessibility. In fact, digital entertainment brings a huge variety of choices to users, ranging from social media, games to streaming services or even fitness applications. Moreover, on account of the development of public Internet system, people possessing digital devices such as smartphones could easily connect to the wifi within their convenience and play online games or use social media everywhere. Besides, in order to enhance the availability of their products, game producers also develop offline gaming applications, which could be downloaded only in a short period of time.

On the other hand, the dependence on technology for amusement could pose a threat to human due to its adverse impact on health as well as interpersonal relationship. Spending too many hours on digital applications may predispose human to serious health problems such as poor vision, back pain and obesity. The underlying reason for this issue is the sedentary lifestyle, which could lead to muscle weakness and immunodeficiency. In addition, the substance of entertainment technology does not appear to be designed to foster in-person communication among people; therefore, people do not find it essential to maintain face-to-face interaction anymore and withdraw from all relationships that require direct conversation.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that digital leisure activities play a crucial role in human development by virtue of their convenience; however, I believe that the abuse of entertainment technology would affect negatively on human health and relationships.