Nowadays people depend on technology in their free time. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, technology has increased dramatically in recent years, so some individuals have prone to use technology as a means of relaxation rather than engaging in outdoor activities in their leisure time. During this essay, I would elaborate the negative and positive impacts of phenomenon before drawing a rational conclusion.

Obviously, using technology in the free time is an advantage because it not only helps to reduce the contribution significantly to the percentage of increasing depression, but also it can simultaneously address some issues that are contained in the environment. With the enhancement of technology, there are more systems and devices which are innovated such as smartphones, computers, games, transportations and social networks. In addition, through social apps, people can easily update news fastly and improve their knowledge, skills without needing to be walking as far as. As a result, the exhaustion emitted to the environment will sharply decrease and people can save a huge amount of money instead of spending on other activities like going to the market, cinema.

Nevertheless, spending more time on these activities through technology may have an impact on the physical and mental. Social apps like Facebook, Instagrams, Twitter are appearing as a consequence of the development of technology but this can be detrimental to the young person. The number of time spent on these apps are blooming now so people may be controlled by them and then barely stop using these apps. Furthermore, staring at the screen for hours can cause eye irritation, energy drain, memory impairment and focus ability. Last but not least, since people are unable to spend much time with their family, it will not be close to the long distance between their relationships.

Put in a nutshell, most adults are definitely in favor of using technology to entertain and enjoy adventure experiences. However, this should be under control, because using too much can bring some disadvantages which would surely outweigh the benefit if people are addicted to such virtual forms of recreation.