Nowadays people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of the news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Social networking sites have transformed the way millennials communicate today. These websites have become the primary source to obtain information about one’s acquittance or global affairs. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits associated with the use of social media and will argue that the merits overshadow the demerits.

Considering the negatives first, people might argue that using social networking sites for extended periods can result in digital dementia and help to spread fake news as well. The reason is that such websites and apps are designed in a way which makes their user addicted to them. To cite an example, features such as likes, comments and poking keep the user busy to check their profile frequently. Therefore, users get drifted away from the real-life and spend a significant amount of their time inside the cyber world. In addition to that, since information can be readily transmitted throughout the world within seconds, social media makes it effortless to spread false information in the form of legitimate news. For instance, an Iraqi Facebook user posted information regarding corruption in the education sector which had no to little evidence; However, within hours people were protesting on the streets of Iraq all thanks to this false post.

On the flip side, the advantages are far more significant than these trivial disadvantages, firstly, contacting friends and reading news is convenient than ever before. Compared to the past, when people have to wait for the morning newspaper, or for the news broadcast at night, nowadays, they can tap into the latest news at the touch of a button. These websites, indeed, brought tremendous amount of convenience with them. Moreover, apps such as Facebook, Whatsapp and Imo drastically changed the way in which we connect we connect with our family or friends. Whether a person is living abroad, or in another state, they can talk with their family members or close friends face-to-face that to some extent bring a sense of not being alone in such long-distance relationships. As far as the cons are considered, its a user’s discretion to limit their use of social media. On top of that, many apps have now strict policies to keep in check any fake or false information posted on these mediums. Thus, the negatives carry insignificant weight and can be undermined.

To conclude, social media has brought tremendous possibilities for all of us. Even though there are some cons, constantly improving technology is overshadowing them to become better and better.