Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects. Other people say this is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Technological innovations have literally transformed the world into a global village. People around the globe can access information about anything at the touch of a button. However, it has remained a contentious topic whether current affairs should be made an imperative subject or not. This essay will discuss why people are so indifferent about this issue and will argue why making international news a part of students’ curriculum can help in their holistic development.

Opponents who think that reading global affairs is a waste of time might argue that this subject would have no practical use for its readers. Even though a student might know a lot about what is happening in the world, interviewers access an interviewee based on their subject mastery. On top of that, when students are already dealing with arduous subjects such as Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry, including an additional subject that too with no to little benefit is going to strain the students. Therefore, sentiments of the opponents can be comprehended why they hold this belief.

On the other hand, others and I would argue that making international news a part of the high-school curriculum would ameliorate youngsters’ perception and transform them into better individuals. To put it simply, if a teenager is exposed to the global news, it is more likely that they will become tolerant towards other customs, traditions and values eventually making them sensible citizens of tomorrow. For instance, South Koreans are not allowed to use Google or any other medium to gather news of the outside world. Owing to such policies, these citizens are deprived of getting to know other religions, work cultures and values which restricts their ability to perceive. Hence, it is utmost important to teach teenagers about international news.

To conclude, although not teaching global affairs takes away some burden from a student’s academic year, it might cost them significantly when it comes to their personal development. In my opinion, exposing secondary school pupils about current affairs is the most effective way to broaden their horizons as well as bringing up responsible and unbiased citizens of tomorrow.