Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

Who does not know about the fact that in the modern world people waste a whole lot of food which they are buying in the supermarkets, cafe and restaurants? I suppose, it is happening because mankind in the majority does not feel the value of food and the consequences of wasting. Many things could be done in order to shrink the amount of food which is thrown away, the main is setting the restrictions for manufacturing and developing ecological attitude among people.

In my opinion, not every person understands the real cost for food which is the damage nature. And this is a reason why sometimes people buy too much food, could not eat it, and as a result they have to throw away the expired products. Producing food on the fabrics consist of a lot of stages which affect negatively from every side. For example, to get one burger it is needed to waste more than 100 litres of water. As we know, planet will face a water deficit in the near future, Capetown almost had it - a couple of years ago it was close to Day Zero.

First step, that could be done in fighting with products wasting, is the establishment of particular rules for product production in order to avoid overproducing. That means, shops and restaurants have to count more accurately how many products will be bought over a period, and in line with this produce the needed amount. For instance, all the ecological shops have such strategy - they do not produce more products that are needed.

On the other hand, we should pay attention to consumption too, and give people corresponding guidelines. The best for it is setting role models, and sharing these ideas from all the possible sources. To exemplify, all the advertisements should say about ecological problems, water crisis. The more programmes, podcasts and articles about food shortage in developing countries, social problems and environment protection should be on TV, in the Internet and social media.

To conclude, reduction of wasting food depends on several actions, either from the side of production and from the side of using.