Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

It is true that the amount of food that is thrown out in restaurants and supermarkets has increased dramatically in recent years. There are a number of reasons behind this phenomenon and several solutions should be adopted by governments and individuals to improve the situation.

There are two primary reasons why people nowadays discard a lot of food that they have purchased from stores and restaurants. One reason is that most of the foodstuffs are now being produced by machines due to the advances of technology and its introduction in the manufacturing processes. This makes production easier and less expensive, as a result, the price of food is consistently falling down so that consumers can purchase large quantities of food and then lead to the throwaway culture in today's society. Another reason is that consumers are failing to make a detailed plan of what they are going to buy before they shop. Consequently, their shopping carts are often full of food products that they might never use.

Fortunately, several measures could be taken to prevent this problem. The first solution would be for governments to introduce strict laws in order to forbid food waste at places such as supermarkets or restaurants. One good illustration of this is imposing a heavy fine on diners who order too many dishes but cannot finish them, therefore, customers have to think twice before making an order. A second measure would be encouraging people to develop a habit of making a list of ingredients and foodstuffs that they really need before going shopping. This would help consumers to have time to prepare carefully and decide wisely what food items should be bought, which would prevent a great deal of food from being thrown away.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for the tendency of throwing away a large amount of food that is increasingly popular in this modern world, and steps need to be taken to tackle this problem.