Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people who are being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

More and more people are being monitored unnoticeably by high technology such as cameras and software nowadays. While the appliance of technology offers maximum security, I believe that overusing this tool to spy on individuals is unadvisable.

To begin with, putting technology into surveillance is somewhat beneficial. With the help of the advanced gadgets, the work of security guards and police officers will be much easier to handle. For instance, shopping malls’ staffs can sit in the office and still be able to observe customers’ behavior to take actions when someone tries to steal the merchandise. In addition, secret agents from governments around the world need tracking devices and spyware to trace or search for potential terrorists. Thus, using technology to monitor people who are suspected to commit severe crime could prevent disasters caused by human from happening.

However, there are setbacks when taking advantage of technology to record people’s actions and conversations. Firstly, people have the rights to maintain their own privacy if they do not show any sign of being a convict. Therefore, spying on ordinary individuals continuously using technology is considered inappropriate, invasive and against the law of privacy protection. Secondly, since these types of equipment are made and programmed by human, there will be occasions when these machines go malfunctioned. In these cases, private and national security staffs might misjudge people and make wrong decisions which could possibly damage individuals’ reputation.

In conclusion, while using high technology to observe people for security purposes offers several benefits in some aspects, I believe that overusing this tool may have more disadvantages.