The only way to improve safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that governments should establish harsh punishments for drivers who commit accidents by not following the rule of traffic in order to improve safety of the streets and there are no other ways to tackle this problem. I disagree that this is the only method to make better environment for all car users.

It is true that enacting stricter penalties for driving offences is an efficient way to create safety of our roads. Since people usually think that they could get away after causing accidents easily, they will not feel guilty and thus, keep driving without abiding any rules. As a result, there is always a risk that car crashes occur more frequently. However, if stricter punishments are enacted, these driver with bad behavior will be forced to follow the traffic rules. Hence, less driving offences occur. For example, before Vietnamese government first announced the penalties for car accidents was at a minimum of 30 million Vietnam Dong, there had been almost 10 car crashes happened in every 10 minutes in Vietnam. This proves that with harsh punishments, people tend to have a better behavior when joining traffic.

However, giving stricter penalties for driving offences is not the only way to promote safety, there are some other ways that can also create better traffic on the roads. Firstly, the reason for people to not follow rules is that they are not well-educated in school. For that reason, it is suggested to fix people’s way of thinking when they are young by putting more lessons in all educational facilities. That way, drivers will develop their own good habits when driving cars. Secondly, governments can work with companies to make more security systems on the roads for drivers. For instance, Polish government has put into use the system that alarms car users any potential accidents up ahead so that they can go to safety zones until the polices arrest the driving offender.

In conclusion, although giving much stricter penalties is a good method to improve safety of the roads, I believe that there are several ways to reduce driving offences.