Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a trend that the media reports have a greater preference for he information mainly exploiting shocking issues than the pieces of optimistic news. This is believed to bring about the harmful consequence to either the individuals or society. From my personal perspective, its benefit and detriment are mostly in equilibrium and several reasons will be put forward to prove my opinion in the following paragraphs.

One the one hand, there are several advantages when media reports are covered by the problems and emergent news. More specifically, such platforms of media as television, newspaper, radio are regarded as the tools to deliver all the social information to citizens. It is true that thanks to them, the latest news provision are constantly updated. The topical news which can be unemployment, inflation or pollution, crime are well informed in community.

On the other hand, when colossal numbers of positive developments are not daily mentioned because content related to the emergencies is more favorable, I believe that it is conducive to the poor upshot. In a small scale, as for the individuals, it can exert a negative impact which is exposed by their pessimistic thoughts or attitudes after watching or reading the news. An example is a series of shocking accidents on the street, which probably exacerbates readers’ mood and makes them feel insecure when commuting. In a larger scale, people can miss out on the positive things such as the development of the quality of. This can lead to a prevalent thought that life is meaningless and not worth living.

In conclusion, although this trend has pros and cons, I strongly concur that the positive content published on mass media should be more focused on than the negative one.