Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a trend that the media reports have a greater preference for the information mainly exploiting shocking issues than the pieces of optimistic news. This is believed to have an adverse impact on either individuals or society. While I agree that this trend can be detrimental, I believe that there are still several beneficial effects.

One the one hand, there are several advantages when media reports are covered by the problems and emergent news. More specifically, such platforms of media as television, newspaper, radio are regarded as the tools to deliver all the social information to citizens. It is true that thanks to them, the latest news provision is constantly updated. The urgent issues such as disasters and infections, crimes are well informed in community to shield citizens from any potential financial loss, health damage and physical injury.

On the other hand, when colossal numbers of positive developments are not daily mentioned because content related to the emergencies is more favorable, I believe that it is conducive to the poor upshot. In a small scale, as for the individuals, it can exert a negative impact which is exposed by their pessimistic thoughts or attitudes after watching or reading the news. An example is a series of shocking accidents on the street, which probably exacerbates readers’ mood and leads to a loss of the sense of security when commuting. In a larger scale, people can miss out on the positive things such as the development of the quality of. This can lead to a prevalent thought that life is meaningless and not worth living.

In conclusion, although this trend has pros and cons, I strongly concur that the positive content published on mass media should be more focused on than the negative one.