Nowadays, the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationship people make. Has this become a positive or negative development?

In modern day, the development of technology affect many aspects of human life including the way people communicate. There are sevaral outstanding changes in the way people interact with one another which bring many benefits for the development of society. However, personally, I believe negative impacts of this tendency should be considered seriously.

On the one hand, there are several way in which the new communication technology has influenced people's way of interact with each other. Firstly, technology allow people to contact without meeting each other and social media applications has changed the way people communicate. We can connect with families and friends immediately through social media applications such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram,... instead of sending letter or traveling long distance. Nowadays, we can talk to everyone easier with smartphone connected the Internet. In the past, we had to interact face to face, go out to meet others which waste both time and money. And now, by calling and sending message through phone, we can save time then have more time for other hobbies. Secondly, people are now more encouraged to share their opimions openly via the Internet. One good illustration for this is the substantial number of friends that people who use social media applications have in their contact list.

On the other hand, the impact of social media in one’s social life may not always be positive. This is because people are now increasingly abandoning face to face interactions which can make people feel more isolative, especially young people. They ofen prefer communicating behind the screen and closed door which can lead to decreasing self-confidence to speak in public. A good example here is that a research conducted in the US showing that more than 75% of high school students spending more than 50% of their free time on the Internet. Moreover, spending more time on social media can make people feel lonely, the relationship bond may be less strong. Clearly, physical connection always help relationship become closer.

In conclusion, modern technological advances in communication have incredibly influenced the way people interact, and although there are many perks associated with the use of recent technology, there are also drawbacks that people must take care of.