Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, there is belief that the penalization for each type of crime should be unchangeable while some people think that punishments should be taken into consideration based on criminal's circumstances and the reason for their illegal activities. Personally, I agree with the latter.

On the one hand, there should be fixed punishments for benefits of society. Because this will help guarantee the stability and security through the minimum of crime. Clearly, if there is a certain punishment for each type of crime, people will more likely avoid committing crimes. As a result, living environment will be safer. Moreover, this practice is a greatly consolation to the victims, that their loss of property and beloved will be compensated based on fixed laws.

On the other hand, I believe that circumstance of a crime and the intention of committing should be given considerations when deciding the punishments. This may help establish and ensure justice and humanitarian of law. A person killing other because of self-defense can not be compared with a serial killer. A person burgling due to his family's financial difficulty is not similar with a robbery who steal money for his illegal activities. Thus, punishments should be flexible and taken into account in each situation. There have to fixed punishment for all crimes, but judges also should consider each case to give final decision.

In conclusion, despite necessity of fixed punishment, it seems to me that some cases should be decided by flexible laws to ensure equity and justice in society.