Nowadays the way people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has the technology affected the types of relationships people make?

Has this become a positive or negative development?

It is true that the interaction between people has been significantly affected by the new technologies. Technology had changed the way on how people socialize to make friends and in my opinion, there is both a positive and negative effect.

Many people are hooked to using social networks because they can meet new friends as well as join groups which share common interest without meeting them in person. They tend to spend more time online to form virtual relationships instead of going out and interact in the real world. In the past, people can only have social relationship when they go out from their houses and communicate face to face with other people. For example, a survey conducted by the University of the Philippines found that almost 55% of their students prefer to use Facebook to meet new peers online rather than spending time outdoors to socialize with others.

Technology has definitely a positive impact in communication. People can communicate better and easier at any given time and place. They can use different ways, such as emails, fax, telephones and videoconference, as opposed before, where it is only limited to written methods which are letters and telegrams. On the other hand, it harms social communication skills. Face to face interaction is becoming less important because people tend to be more interested and engrossed on their smartphones or gadgets instead of conversing with those around them. For instance, during my dinner date with my friends, some people inside the restaurant were too busy scrolling their phones rather than talking with their companions around their table.

In conclusion, the innovations in technology had changed people's way of communicating and one clear example is their social interaction and I believe that there is both an advantage and drawback.