Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

In recent years, the amount of garbage has been increasing. Although overpopulation and consumerism are the major reasons for this tendency, I still believe that governments and individuals should take several measures to deal with the enormous number of rubbish.

Various reasons explain the increasing amount of rubbish in many nations. First and foremost, overpopulation has contributed to the increase of garbage, and waste from people and their daily activities, such as consuming meals and leaving behind leftover food packaging. All kinds of waste are hard to disintegrate and cause harm to the environment. In addition, the amount of waste is from overconsumption and consumerism trend. Manufacturers keep producing retail products at an alarming rate, while the consumer has gotten into replacing old items and using up-to-date furniture, especially electronic devices. As a result, the accumulation of rubbish in landfills has been more than ever before.

It seems to me that governments and individuals should take more actions to deal with the rubbish amount. The first remedy is that the authority should ban strict regulations on throwing rubbish away everywhere in lieu of putting rubbish in public containers. Furthermore, industrial factories and companies should solve waste after discharging waste to the main areas to reduce and manage waste. Finally, governments should focus on raising the awareness of citizens. For instance, people encourage to use recyclable items, such as bags in lieu of plastic containers, which are hard to disintegrate. As a result, this action contributes to a green living style with fewer disposal.

In conclusion, several factors contribute to the habit of wastage, but these issues are not insurmountable. I would advise the government to consider the points I have highlighted above to curtail the consistent rise of wastage.