Nowadays young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. Some people fear

that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in.

As cities and countries become more and more developed, the number of shopping centers would increase. Also, most of them are not just a shopping center, because there are lots of other feature such as restaurant, café, and bookstore and entertainment center. As a result, most of the people, especially young people, prefer to spend their spare time in those malls. In my point of view, this trend will bring some new concerns since can influence society negatively.

First of all, it should be stuck in mind that shopping is a one of the most important things in the life and sometimes people could be addicted to going shopping often. Plenty of research has been done on this matter and it has been proved that there is a direct relation between individuals’ mood and shopping. Sometimes it is known as a therapy which is very popular among female. Despite the fact that shopping causes pleasure to some extent, but it could become a habit if people go regularly and lead to consumerism manner among youth generation. In fact, people use to purchase without necessities. Electrical gadget and clothes are two outstanding instance, which teenager are keen on. Sometimes they putting their stuff after a short time and buy a new one. They never learn how to spend their money effectively for their needs.

On the other hand, when people use to spend their free time at shopping centers, the level of other beneficial activities such as taking exercise, reading book, researching and communication with family and friends would reduce significantly. This situation brings some considerable drawbacks which impact the total society. The number of health problems such as obesity or heart diseases would boots because of less physical activities. Besides, in most of the shopping center there are lots of restaurant and cafes that offer verity of fast-food and unhealthy snack which could change eating habits. Also, when young people spend less time with their families, they become prone to anti-sociable behavior.

Taking everything into consideration, it seems that spending much time at malls has huge number of drawback which can effect society. I think there should be some attractive alternative to encourage young people to do at their free time. Also, some educational program to avoid extending materialism and consumerism.