Nuclear

Practical dependencies in utilization of non-renewable energy resources, such as oil and coal, are becoming more complex. Gradual cost increment, depleting supplies, and worsen by its impact of global warming are challenging us to seek for options. Therefore, I support the idea to find alternative solutions for energy, aside from nuclear.

Nuclear energy may provide long-lasting source of energy so this powerful resource can potentially supply all our energy needs for many countries. However, nuclear emits high-intensity radioactive wave which may harms living creature. The kind of radiation could cause cancer when exposed to organism during certain period of time. At the end of harvesting cycle, wastes left by nuclear compounds will still emit the radiation and difficult to decompose. More importantly, nuclear power plants could become the target of terrorist attack. Technology could do very little to prevent such an attack, and the consequences are unthinkable.

On the other hand, renewable energy resources, such as wind and sea wave energy, could become an alternative energy because they are eco-friendly, low risk, and very efficient. Wind energy could be easily harvested on high-elevated ground whilst sea wave energy along coastal shore line with minimum man-made infrastructure and preserving as it is. Wind turbine, which is a common tool used to harvest wind energy, generates electricity from rotating dynamo. In contrast, sea wave energy produces electricity by creating a pressure that transform into kinetic energy.

To sum up, the realistic alternative energy is not only nuclear but also wind and sea wave energy. With enhanced technological development, harvesting these resources is becoming more practical along the time.