The number of children that read books for fun has dropped dramatically in recent years. What are the reasons for this? How can we encourage to read more?

It is a well known fact that nowadays the quantity of children, who are curiously interested in reading books not only in schools but also for entertainment, has significantly declined. There are known to be an enormous number of different and various causes that might have negatively influenced children's attention as well as relevance of books among youngsters. In addition to this, it is necessary to implement and inculcate diverse solutions that might radically change the current situation.

First of all, there is an explicit speculation that due to the incredibly fast development of modern technology new vistas of opportunities are available for anyone. Highly interesting and remarkable videos and apps, that were created by using present technology, have a harmful and disastrous effect on our mental skills such as focusing ability. Whereas to acquire some serious or entertainment information from books it is compulsory to be able to be completely focussed on text. As far as games are concerned, a large number of different genres of games can provide tremendous feelings as well as to have a whale of a time while chatting with your friends into a game. In comparison with games, reading words after words for a long time might be monotonous and does not give a sense of complacency.

There are known to be some useful solutions that might be helpful to overcome this obstacle. First, parents are in charge of their child's health as well as his or her time spent on the Internet, which means parents can put some limitations on playing or browsing time. This solution leads to a condition where due to the lack and shortage of fun children by their own will be interested in books. Another excellent way to encourage children to read books is to create a fair and wise compromise. For example, for a certain quantity of page read a child can play determinate time.

In conclusion, after various causes and solutions have been discussed in detail, it is not a surprising fact that the average time that children spend reading books has significantly declined, however it is not a totally negative fact because youngsters can acquire and obtain astonishing skills from the Internet.