In a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport Disucss both thes

There is a debate whether country government should spend more money on building railway lines for rapid train or they should spend them on upgrading the current public transportation. I completely agree with the latter that a huge amount of money should be used to bettering the current public transportation.

On the one side, building rapid train's railway lines is great because it can make more rapid trains to operate. The growing number of rapid trains operating are expected to overcome the traffic congestion problem that exists, because it will encourage people to change from their private transportation to rapid train. However, because of the cost needed to build railway lines is not cheap, it will most likely to have impact on the fare of rapid trains. As a result, citizens will be reluctant to switch from their private transportation to rapid trains.

On the other side, upgrading the current public transportation is also great because it will make the existing public transportation to be more convenient. These new and comfortable public transportation will be able to attract citizens to switch from private to public transportation. Because the price needed to upgrade the existing facility is not as expensive as building new facility, the public transportation fare will not be largely affected, thus make it affordable for citizens to use. As a result, citizens will more likely to switch from their private transportation to rapid trains.

In conclusion, I completely agree that huge amount of money should be spent to upgrade existing public transportation because it require less money than building new railway lines which will have impact to the fare. The cheaper the fare, the more likely citizens to switch from private to public transportation.