In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Recently, the question of how to spend public money has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that ameliorating current public transport systems should take precedence over building new, faster railway lines for bullet trains, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that the government should allocate public funds to setting up bullet train lines do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the introduction of these lines could facilitate the nationwide transport of goods and passengers. This means that not only can citizens with relatives in other parts of the country meet each other with greater ease, but parcels are also able to be delivered quickly. In addition, establishing these lines leads to a boom in domestic tourism that invigorates economic growth, exerting a positive influence on local residents given that they can have an improved standard of living.

My opinion, however, is that more emphasis should be placed on reforming existing transport than establishing railway lines for bullet trains. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that current transport systems play an important role in citizens' daily lives as the majority of the masses make use of these systems on a regular basis in order to commute to and from work. In other words, an increase in the quality of these results in the public leading a better life. Furthermore, an astronomical sum of money is required to erect facilities for bullet trains, which put a heavy burden on locals since they have to pay taxes. As an illustration, one recent study conducted by the government of China has demonstrated that the amount of money dedicated to constructing infrastructure for bullet trains is predicted to approximately six times higher than enhancing current transport systems. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that upgrading local public transport should be a priority for the reasons discussed above.