The number of endangered species has increased significantly in the century, and we can find more mass extinctions in this period of time. State some reasons for this and provide possible solutions.

It is true that the problem of disappearing species has been extremely escalated in recent years. There are several reasons leading to this situation and measures to handle it.

The factor could be considered as the major contribution of this problem is illegal hunting wild animals. The increasing demand in the use of rare species’ organs in favor of food, jewelry and medical treatment stimulates a vast number of wildlife trading crime. As a sequence, the number of such animals would intensively fall down, and some of them are even pushed to the brink of extinction. According to the National Geographic, for example, over 50 percent of lost elephants in South Asian in recent two decades is associated with the purpose of ivory consumption in black market. This is compelling evidence for the detrimental effect that such criminal poses to the diversity of ecosystem.

To tackle this trouble, strengthening the strict punishment to crime those poaches wildlife species appears to be a potential solution that governments should take. A huge amount of payment in financial fine or long sentences in prison is likely to be a practical way to punish those who commit to crime in terms of illicit exploiting animals. For instance, Vietnamese authority impose an increase in sentences from one to three years in the jail to those harvesting red-ear tortoise’s shells. Over a period of 5 years, this country witnessed a significant development in the number of this tortoise individuals as a representing of the possibility of this method.

In conclusion, I believe killing animals without concerning about regulations causes a harmful threat to existence of some species and country councils should apply harsh punishment to prevent this issue.