The number of older people is increasing. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In many developed countries, the policy of investing for both social welfare programs and healthcare services are more encouraged by their governments with the purpose of creating a strong impulse to the development of the economy. In parallel with the economic impact, there has recently been one worrying issue that the life expectancy of the population is higher than ever before. This means that the whole society will be faced with the problem of a higher number of the elderly than others. In this essay, both advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon will be discussed.

Admittedly, the increase in the average age of the population is a key indicator for the sustainable and stable development of countries’ economy. Particularly, workforce is always viewed as a primary force for the stability of active economies in terms of international and national trading. When the working age of the workforce is widened, the cost of reeducating new blue-collar workers will be reduced considerably that can lead a big margin of the manufacturer’s benefit. Regarding to big corporations, being steered by the elder leaders who are full of experience in practice will help to keep their well-established empires run stably in the long term. More than that, the elderly may have more time to hand their understanding about leadership and specialized skills down to younger generations.

Apart from those above-mentioned advantages, there also must be saying that the higher life expectancy of the population partly influences on the naturally fundamental development of society. The higher a number of the elderly is, the more money need to be invested for social welfare and healthcare service that serve for their life. As a result, there will be a lack of national budget concentrating on building all necessities for society like community infrastructure, up to date equipment investment, educational base opening. Last but not least, overpopulation actually put more pressure on the extensive development of country due to increased unemployment and lack of housing system.

To put it in a nutshell, I pen down by saying that although the increase in the older people in society reflects the good working of medical system and ensure the sustainable development of the whole society in economical terms, but overpopulation and lack of common budget caused by them can bring the country’s prosperity to a grinding halt if not being considered in time.