Obesity was once considered a disease of adults; however, it is increasingly common among children. Why do you think this is happening? What can be done to help children stay healthy?

It is said that in the past children rarely suffered from obesity, whereas this health problem is now spreading amidst offspring. From my point of view, technology has provided people with a great variety of cheap, tasty and energy-dense fast food which has caused the spread of early obesity. Thus, I believe that promoting sports activities and healthy food is an effective way to tackle this problem.

Fast food, also called street food and if poor in nutrients can be also be called junk food, was not as popular as it is these days. More and more children would protest if they were not allowed to buy their favourite street food during the week. A recent report has brought to light that children in the UK consume three times as much fast food than during the 1990s. The reason for this trend lies in the fact that fast and junk food have become cheaper and tastier over the course of the time. Unfortunately, even though this type of food gives people pleasure because of its taste, its high content in fat and then calories leads to overweight and obesity, causing eventually aesthetic discomfort and various health problems.

If the government promotes healthy food and sports activities, early obesity will diminish. There is evidence that providing free and tasty vegetables in schools helps children appreciate salutary food alternatives. For instance, in Italy, the City of Bologna provided a number of students with sweet or savoury healthy food, together with sports activities. The results were outstanding, in fact, at the end of the year, a greater number of students than in the past were in the healthy weight range.

In conclusion, due to the compelling effect that junk food exerts on children, together with sedentary lifestyles, early obesity has increased. However, there is evidence that promoting a healthy diet and sports activities in school increases the number of children in the healthy weight range.