old building

The restoration of ancient buildings in metropolitan cities in many parts of the world tends to require a large amount of government budget. This money will create more beneficial effects if it is spent to construct new social houses and public roads. To a certain extent, I agree with this view, while I also believe that there are far more arguments to disagree with it.

Perhaps the main reason why this opinion seems to be reasonable simply because citizens in some countries were faced with housing and traffic congestion problems in recent years. Take an example, in my city and many other big cities, where traffic congestion is a serious issue and poor people would live in the house with poor conditions nowadays. Thus the government should invest more heavily in sectors to tackle urgent problems.

In spite of the arguments above, there are a wide range of reasons why I support this view. The first argument is that preservation old building is the appropriate way to bring benefits to the whole society. In evidence, the old building could show the identity of cities and country which attract tourists from around the world. Therefore, government and citizens could receive more money, if tourism development is based on ancient buildings.

Equally important is that the maintenance of ancient buildings could help the nation to preserve culture and history which are impaired in modern times. To illustrate, every old building, as well as historical sites, always stick to historical events as well as old architectures in that period. Consequence, government, and citizens should have responsibilities to protect and preserve these conventional values, and this helps the younger generation in order to have opportunities to study and improve understanding about ancestors.

In conclusion, although I recognize possible arguments to accept this view, there are also persuasive reasons to believe that this idea is unreasonable.