It is true that there is an ongoing competency for a job position between young and old employee in many parts of the world. There are various negative effect that this create, but steps can definitely be taken to tackle this problem.

In my opinion, there are three main factors emerge along with the striving needs to be able to get a job in any organization. Firstly, younger personnel can easily be receptive to new experiences such as using up-to-date technology or thinking out of the box method which older personnels can not keep up with. Secondly, the element of age discrimination makes higher-in-age employee suffer more disadvantages when coping with deadlines or when being required to think creatively especially in design industry or other art related jobs. This can even cause further stress for those who work for a longer period in a company. Thirdly, by being involved in a whirlwind competency tornado, sometimes it can backfire, demotivation happens when those who are afraid of their age can not outdo other employees in work performance. For example, quitting is one of the worst solutions that employees can take, company might lose many experienced people which lead to higher cost in training for younger generations.

However this can definitely be improved. I believe that the change must start from the older employees themselves, who need to regularly upgrading their skills and abilities in order to keeping up with the working pace and other younger workers. Also, organization should divide the work proportionately and equally to all of staff members, not incline to any particular age group. At the same time, jobs which require experienced workers should be highly awarded. For example: qualified doctors who are in higher age group should be promoted to superiors and to be in charged of various training programs and orientation courses for younger trainees.

In conclusion, problems will still arise when the older generation has to strive for their standing with the young one, unless companies promise to continue treating fairly with their staff members, not rely on their ages and themselves also need to take steps to further become accustomed to the changing work environment.